Monday, 30 June 2008

Spain wins the Euro 2008

Congratulations Spain!!!
Spain claimed their first major title for 44 years after winning Euro 2008 with a deserved victory over Germany.
Liverpool striker Fernando Torres was Spain's goal hero, striking after 33 minutes when he cleverly lifted Xavi's pass over Germany keeper Jens Lehmann.
Spain dominated the final throughout, with Torres heading against the post and Marcos Senna almost adding a second from close range after 80 minutes.

Spain have long had a reputation as under-achievers on the big occasions, but this was a richly-merited victory for veteran coach Luis Aragones and a team that played outstanding football throughout the tournament.


Spain have won the European Championship for the second time. In 1964, they also lifted the trophy after beating the Soviet Union 2-1 in the final. In 1984, they also reached the final but lost 2-0 against France.
Just as Greece four years ago, Spain have kept clean sheets in all three knock-out rounds after the group phase.
As well as winning the European Championship three times (1972, 1980, 1996), Germany have now also lost three European Championship finals (1976, 1992, 2008).
With four goals, David Villa has become top scorer at Euro 2008 without having played in the final. That is the fewest goals for a European Championship top scorer since 1992, when Dennis Bergkamp, Tomas Brolin, Henrik Larsen and Karl-Heinz Riedle all scored three goals.
At the age of 38 years and 232 days, Germany goalkeeper Jens Lehmann became the oldest player ever to appear in the European Championship final, breaking the record set by Arnold Muhren (37 years, 23 days) in 1988.
At the age of 69 years and 337 days, winning coach Luis Aragones has become the oldest coach ever to appear in the final of a European Championship. Aragones is more than four years older than Otto Rehhagel (65 years, 327 days) was four years ago when Greece beat Portugal in the Euro 2004 final.

For more information, click here.

No comments: